Mission Statement

The mission of Arts and Sciences is to promote a climate that nurtures and values lifelong learning; offers accessible, high quality, interdisciplinary instruction; provides personalized, attentive advising and recognizes personal, transfer, and career goals; and, through partnerships with other segments of education, develops literate, responsible, productive citizens.

The Division of Arts & Sciences is located on the first floor of Godwin Hall in Suite 104. Office hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Arts & Sciences

Dr. Harriette Arrington, Dean 

harrington@mecc.edu

Dana DeFoor, Administrative Assistant 

276-523-2400 X460

ddefoor@mecc.edu

Faculty

Name Email Extension Office Discipline
Bethany Arnold barnold@mecc.edu 252 G111 English, Education
Smitty Baker sbaker@mecc.edu 238 G217 Psychology
Justin Boggs jkboggs@mecc.edu 317 G235 Biology
William Bott wbott@mecc.edu 289 G237 Chemistry, Mathematics
Sylvia Brown sbrown@mecc.edu 353 G221 Mathematics
Shannon Fritts sfritts@mecc.edu 295 G219 Biology
Sarah Gilliam sgilliam@mecc.edu 242 G109 English
Brandi Martinez bmartinez@mecc.edu 690 G224 English
Vadim Matyushin vmatyushin@mecc.edu 258 G223 Mathematics
Miranda Oaks moaks@mecc.edu 230 G114 Mathematics
Kyle Scanlan kscanlan@mecc.edu 263 G116 History, Political Science
Ken Tucker ktucker@mecc.edu 315 G117 Sociology, Geography
Derek Whisman dwhisman@mecc.edu 260 G115 English
Frank Wright fwright@mecc.edu 229 G112 Physics, Mathematics

Program Specialization Contacts:
Business Administration: Brandi Martinez
General Education Certificate: Dr. Harriette Arrington
General Studies: Kyle Scanlan
General Studies – Software Engineering Specialization: Dr. Derek Whisman
Pre-Teacher: Dr. Bethany Arnold
Science: Dr. Shannon Fritts
Science – Engineering: Frank Wright


Our graduates have some wonderful things to say about starting out at MECC, BUT do not just take it from us. Here’s what they have to say about MECC:

Alyssa England:

, Arts & SciencesAttending MECC was a stepping stone in preparing me for a four-year university. Without financial aid and the scholarship opportunities that MECC provided me with, I would not have been able to attend college. I am a first generation college student and was unsure of what to expect when starting college, so the small class sizes and laid back environment helped me transition more easily. The professors and advisors were also very helpful to me by their willingness to discuss vital decisions about my future. I recently graduated with a B.S. in Mathematics and am currently pursuing a master’s in mathematics at ETSU.

 


Jamie Huckaby:

, Arts & SciencesMy name is Jamie Huckaby. I started my education journey in 2012 after tragedy struck my family. Like many, I didn’t know where or how to get started, so I started at MECC! The guidance and education I received was incredible. Everyone from the ladies in the financial aid department to the advisors to the professors were amazing! I was able to finish within a year and a half and then received my B.S. at Old Dominion University, followed by my Masters in Social Work at the University of Texas at Arlington. My foundational education from MECC was and is invaluable! I was taught that with enough drive and passion, anything is possible. The skills I have received from the professors I still use in my job and my continuing education. By starting at MECC, I was given the guidance I needed to keep me on the path to make my career a reality!


Mekyah V. Davis:

, Arts & SciencesMy time at Mountain Empire Community College was transformative to say the least. I’ve met multiple people that have enriched my living experience and helped me to grow into the person I am destined to be. The most important and integral part of my experience at MECC was the overwhelming amount of support, care, and genuine love that I felt from my instructors, the faculty, and administration of the college. To have been changed to my core for the betterment of myself through the instruction of multiple teachers is a blessing I will always cherish. I plan on continuing my educational journey to the fullest, starting with pursuing my bachelor’s degree in sociology, followed by pursuing both my master’s and selecting a doctoral program in a specialized field of sociology. No matter where the journey of life may take me, I can never thank enough the people that made my experience at Mountain Empire life changing and unforgettable. I can only hope that I too one day will be able to give a student the same positive, transformative experience that I have received.


Paulina Parks:

, Arts & SciencesAttending MECC my first two years of college benefited me in more ways than one. Because of the low cost, I was able to leave there debt free. My professors and advisors genuinely cared about each individual student. They taught me how to be a successful college student by encouraging me, giving me tips, and being available anytime I needed help. The high quality of education I received from my professors at MECC prepared me for my degree classes at the University I attended after MECC. I was able to receive tutoring when I struggled with a class, and then went on to work in the tutoring lab to help others. The variety of clubs, activities, and programs they have to offer gave me the opportunity to make new friendships that I still have today. The entire atmosphere of MECC enabled me to truly enjoy my time there. Currently, I have a bachelor’s degree in elementary education and enjoy my job as a teacher. MECC is the root of the journey that led me to where I am today. Choosing to attend there was the wisest decision I made for myself!