Mission Statement

The mission of Arts and Sciences is to promote a climate that nurtures and values lifelong learning; offers accessible, high quality, interdisciplinary instruction; provides personalized, attentive advising and recognizes personal, transfer, and career goals; and, through partnerships with other segments of education, develops literate, responsible, productive citizens.

The Division of Arts & Sciences is located on the first floor of Godwin Hall in Suite 104. Office hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Arts & Sciences

Dr. Derek Whisman, Dean of Arts & Sciences

276-523-9048

dwhisman@mecc.edu

Dana DeFoor, Administrative Assistant 

276-523-7460

ddefoor@mecc.edu

Hannah Mullins, Academic Advisor

276-523-9080

hmullins@mecc.edu

Faculty

Name Email Phone Number Office Discipline
Dr. Bethany Arnold barnold@mecc.edu 276-523-9034 G111 English, Education
William Bott wbott@mecc.edu 276-523-9037 G237 Chemistry, Mathematics
Dr. Ted Booth tbooth@mecc.edu 276-523-9038 G115 History
Derek Bryant dbryant@mecc.edu 276-523-9044 G224 Mathematics
Dr. Crystal Camponovo ccamponovo@mecc.edu 276-523-9039 G218 Biology
Dr. Shannon Fritts sfritts@mecc.edu 276-523-9040 G219 Biology
Sarah Gilliam sgilliam@mecc.edu 276-523-9041 G222 English
Brandi Martinez bmartinez@mecc.edu 276-523-9043 G224 English
Melissa McKinney mmckinney@mecc.edu 276-523-9035 G112 Psychology
Miranda Oaks moaks@mecc.edu 276-523-9045 G114 Mathematics
Dr. Adam Ramsey aramsey@mecc.edu 276-523-9036 G235 Biology
Kyle Scanlan kscanlan@mecc.edu 276-523-9046 G116 History, Political Science
Dr. Ken Tucker ktucker@mecc.edu 276-523-9047 G117 Sociology, Geography
Dr. Derek Whisman dwhisman@mecc.edu 276-523-9048 G109 English
Frank Wright fwright@mecc.edu 276-523-9049 G112 Physics, Mathematics

Program Specialization Contacts:

Please click on the program names below to find out more information on degree coursework.

Business Administration: Brandi Martinez
Uniform Certificate of General Studies: Dr. Bethany Arnold
University/College Transfer: Kyle Scanlan
General Studies – Software Engineering Specialization: William Bott
Pre-Teacher: Dr. Bethany Arnold
Science: Dr. Shannon Fritts
Science – Engineering: Frank Wright

Smart Start!

Save BIG by beginning your education at MECC

Arts & Sciences