Nursing Track 1: Two Year Plan

image_print

Nursing Track 1: Two-Year Plan (156)

PROGRAM OF STUDY
FIRST YEAR SUMMER

Course # Course Title Credit Pre-Requisite Courses (if applicable)
SDV 100 College Success Skills 1  
PSY 230 Developmental Psychology 3  
ENG 111 College Composition I 3  
ITE 119 Information Literacy 3  
BIO 141 Human Anatomy & Physiology I 4  
FIRST YEAR FALL  
BIO 142 Human Anatomy & Physiology II 4 BIO 141
NSG 100 Introduction to Nursing Concepts 4 BIO 141
Option: After successful completion of NSG 100 (which includes 45 direct patient care hours), students are eligible to challenge the Certified Nurse Aide Exam
NSG 106 Competencies for Nursing Practice 2 BIO 141
NSG 130 Professional Nursing Concepts 1 BIO 141
NSG 200 Health Promotion & Assessment 3 BIO 141
FIRST YEAR SPRING  
BIO 150 Introductory Microbiology 4  
NSG 152 Health Care Participant 3 BIO 142, NSG 100, NSG 106, NSG 130, NSG 200
NSG 170 Health/Illness Concepts 6 BIO 142, NSG 100, NSG 106, NSG 130, NSG 200
SECOND YEAR FALL  
ENG 112 College Composition II 3 ENG 111
NSG 210 Health Care Concepts I 5 BIO 150, NSG 152, NSG 170
NSG 211 Health Care Concepts II 5 BIO 150, NSG 152, NSG 170
SECOND YEAR SPRING  
NSG 230 Advanced Professional Nursing Concepts 2 NSG 210, NSG 211
NSG 252 Complex Health Care Concepts 4 NSG 210, NSG 211
NSG 270 Nursing Capstone 4 NSG 210, NSG 211
    Humanities Elective 3  
Graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN examination and subsequent licensure.   
Total Minimum Credits for Degree 67  

Notes and Additional Curriculum Options

Course substitutions may be available. Please see an advisor for more information.

 

 For Further Information, Contact: 

Deborah Clarkston, Program Coordinator dclarkston@mecc.edu 276.523.2400 ext. 222
Donna Cluesman dcluesman@mecc.edu 276.523.2400 ext. 300
Jada Oakes joakes@mecc.edu 276.523.2400 ext. 275
Amanda Robbins arobbins@mecc.edu 276.523.2400 ext. 425
Deborah Wright dwright@mecc.edu 276.523.2400 ext. 457
Kim Rasnick krasnick@mecc.edu 276.523.2400 ext. 426
Kim Dorton, Dean of Health Sciences kdorton@mecc.edu 276.523.2400 ext. 356