Nursing Track 1: Two Year Plan

image_print

Nursing Track 1: Two-Year Plan (156)

PROGRAM OF STUDY
FIRST YEAR SUMMER

Course # Course Title Credit Pre-Requisite Courses (if applicable)
SDV 100 College Success Skills 1  
PSY 230 Developmental Psychology 3  
ENG 111 College Composition I 3  
NUR 135 Drug Dosage Calculations 2  
LBR 105 Library Skills an Research 1  
BIO 141 Human Anatomy & Physiology I 4  
FIRST YEAR FALL  
BIO 142 Human Anatomy & Physiology II 4 BIO 141
NSG 100 Introduction to Nursing Concepts 4 BIO 141
Option: After successful completion of NSG 100 (which includes 45 direct patient care hours), students are eligible to challenge the Certified Nurse Aide Exam
NSG 106 Competencies for Nursing Practice 2 BIO 141
NSG 130 Professional Nursing Concepts 1 BIO 141
NSG 200 Health Promotion & Assessment 3 BIO 141
FIRST YEAR SPRING  
BIO 150 Introductory Microbiology 4  
NSG 152 Health Care Participant 3 BIO 142, NSG 100, NSG 106, NSG 130, NSG 200
NSG 170 Health/Illness Concepts 6 BIO 142, NSG 100, NSG 106, NSG 130, NSG 200
SECOND YEAR FALL  
ENG 112 College Composition II 3 ENG 111
NSG 210 Health Care Concepts I 5 BIO 150, NSG 152, NSG 170
NSG 211 Health Care Concepts II 5 BIO 150, NSG 152, NSG 170
SECOND YEAR SPRING  
NSG 230 Advanced Professional Nursing Concepts 2 NSG 210, NSG 211
NSG 252 Complex Health Care Concepts 4 NSG 210, NSG 211
NSG 270 Nursing Capstone 4 NSG 210, NSG 211
    Humanities Elective 3  
Graduates are eligible to sit for the NCLEX-RN examination and subsequent licensure.   
Total Minimum Credits for Degree 67  

Notes and Additional Curriculum Options

Course substitutions may be available. Please see an advisor for more information.

For More Information, Contact:

Name Office Phone Email
Deborah Clarkston Phillips-Taylor Hall Office 136 276.523.9009 dclarkston@mecc.edu
Donna Cluesman Phillips-Taylor Hall Office 131 276.523.9011 dcluesman@mecc.edu
Amanda Davis Phillips-Taylor Hall Office 139 276.523.9013 adavis@mecc.edu
Jada Oakes Phillips-Taylor Hall Office 133 276.523.9018 joakes@mecc.edu
Amanda Robbins Phillips-Taylor Hall Office 135 276.523.9020 arobbins@mecc.edu
Deborah Wright Phillips-Taylor Hall Office 132 276.523.5457 dwright@mecc.edu
Kim Rasnick Robb Hall Office 205 276.523.9019 krasnick@mecc.edu
Kim Dorton, Dean, Health Sciences Phillips-Taylor Hall Office 356 276.523.9014 kdorton@mecc.edu