MOUNTAIN EMPIRE COMMUNITY COLLEGE

 ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2021-2022

Click Here for Printable Version

 

SUMMER SEMESTER 2021

Long Session

Early Enrollment/Advisement Begins Thursday, April 1
New Student Seminar/SDV 100 Wednesday-Thursday, May 26-27
College Closed – Memorial Day Holiday Monday, May 31
Tuition Due for Early Enrollment Tuesday, June 1
Classes Begin Tuesday, June 1

Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission

Friday, June 4

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to

Audit, Drop with a Refund, or Change Class Sections

Thursday, June 10
College Closed – Juneteenth Holiday Friday, June 18
College Closed–Independence Day Holiday Monday, July 5
Last Day to Make-up Incomplete Grades from Spring 2021 Friday, July 9
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Friday, July 9
Classes End Monday, August 2
Final Exams Tuesday-Wednesday, August 3-4
Grades Due at 12 Noon Thursday, August 5

First Short Session

Early Enrollment/Advisement Begins Thursday, April 1
College Closed – Memorial Day Holiday Monday, May 31
Tuition Due for Early Enrollment Monday, May 31
Classes Begin Tuesday, June 1

Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission

Friday, June 1

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to

Audit, Drop with a Refund, or Change Class Sections

Monday, June 7
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Friday, June 18
College Closed – Juneteenth Holiday Friday, June 18
Classes End Tuesday, June 29
Final Exams Wednesday, June 30
Grades Due at 12 Noon Thursday, July 1
College Closed–Independence Day Holiday Monday, July 5
Last Day to Make-up Incomplete Grades from Spring 2021 Friday, July 9

Second Short Session

College Closed–Independence Day Holiday Monday, July 5
Tuition Due for Early Enrollment Tuesday, July 6
Classes Begin Tuesday, July 6
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Tuesday, July 6

Last Day to Make-up Incomplete Grades from Spring 2021

Friday, July 9

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to

Audit, Drop with a Refund, or Change Class Sections

Monday, July 12
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Friday, July 23
Classes End Tuesday August 3
Final Exams Wednesday, August 4
Grades Due at 12 Noon Thursday, August 5

3W1 (Three Week First) Session

Classes Begin Tuesday, June 1
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Tuesday, June 1

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Thursday, June 3
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Monday, June 14

Classes End

Friday, June 18

3W2 (Three Week Second) Session

Classes Begin Monday, June 21
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Monday, June 21

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Wednesday, June 23
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Tuesday, July 6

Classes End

Monday, July 12

3W3 (Three Week Third) Session

Classes Begin Tuesday, July 13
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Tuesday, July 13

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Thursday, July 15
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Monday, July 26

Classes End

Monday, August 2

 

FALL SEMESTER 2021

16 Weeks

Faculty/Staff In-Service Days Monday – Tuesday, August 16-17
New Student Seminar/SDV 100 Wednesday – Thursday, August 18-19
Enrollment/Advisement Days Wednesday – Friday, August 18-20
Tuition Due Monday, August 23
First Day of Classes Monday, August 23

Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission

Sunday, August 29
College Closed-Labor Day Holiday (no day or evening classes) Monday, September 6

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to

Audit, Drop with a Refund, or Change Class Sections

Wednesday, September 8
Faculty/Staff In-Service Day (no day or evening classes) Friday, October 15
Spring Early Enrollment Begins Monday, October 25
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Monday, November 1
Application Deadline for Fall Graduation Monday, November 1
Last Day to Make-up Incomplete Grades from Summer 2021 Friday, November 19
College Closes at Noon (no day or evening classes) Wednesday, November 24
College Closed-Thanksgiving Holiday Thursday – Friday, November 25-26
Last Day of Classes Friday, December 10
Examination Days Monday – Thursday, December 13-16
Faculty/Staff In-Service Day – Grades Due at 4:30 p.m Friday, December 17
Professional Development Days Monday – Thursday, December 20-23
College Closed – Christmas Holiday

Friday, December 24

Monday – Friday, December 27-31

8W1 (Eight Week First) Session

Classes Begin Monday, August 23
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Wednesday, August 25

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Monday, August 30
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Thursday, September 23

Classes End

Friday, October 15

8W2 (Eight Week Second) Session

Classes Begin Monday, October 18
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Wednesday, October 20

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Monday, October 25
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Thursday, November 18

Classes End

Friday, December 10

5W1 (Five Week First) Session

Classes Begin Monday, August 23
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Monday, August 23

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Friday, August 27
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Monday, September 13

Classes End

Monday, September 27

5W2 (Five Week Second) Session

Classes Begin Tuesday, September 28
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Tuesday, September 28

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Monday, October 4
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Monday, October 18

Classes End

Monday, November 1

5W3 (Five Week Third) Session

Classes Begin Tuesday, November 2
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Tuesday, November 2

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Monday, November 8
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Wednesday, November 24

Classes End

Thursday, December 9

 

SPRING SEMESTER 2022

16 Weeks

College Closed – New Year’s Day Holiday Monday, January 3
Enrollment/Advisement Days Tuesday-Tuesday, January 4-11
Faculty/Staff In-Service Days Wednesday-Thursday, January 5-6
Tuition Due Wednesday, January 12
First Day of Classes Wednesday, January 12

Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission

 Tuesday, January 18

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to

Audit, Drop with a Refund, or Change Class Sections

Monday, January 31

Application Deadline for Spring and Summer Graduation

Friday, February 25
Professional Development Day (No day or evening classes) Monday-Tuesday, March 7-8

Spring break-No Day or Evening Classes (Note: May be reduced/eliminated if necessary to

make up class time.)

Wednesday– Friday, March 9-11
Last Day to Withdraw without Grade Penalty Friday, April 1
Summer and Fall Early Enrollment Begins Friday, April 1
Last Day to Make-up Incomplete Grades from Fall 2021 Friday, April 8
College Closed Friday, April 15

Faculty/Staff In-Service Day – Graduate Assessment at 9:00 a.m., Graduation Practice, Goodloe Center, 11:00 p.m. (no day or evening classes)

Friday, April 29
Last day of classes Thursday, May 5
Faculty/Staff In-Service, Celebration of People Friday, May 6
Examination Days Monday – Thursday, May 9-12
Graduation, Faculty/Staff In-Service, Grades Due by 4:30 p.m

Friday, May 13

8W1 (Eight Week First) Session

Classes Begin Wednesday, January 12
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Friday, January 14

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Wednesday, January 19
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Monday, February 14

Classes End

Friday, March 4

8W2 (Eight Week Second) Session

Classes Begin Monday, March 14
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Wednesday, March 16

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Monday, March 21
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Thursday, April 14

Classes End

Friday, May 6

5W1 (Five Week First) Session

Classes Begin Wednesday, January 12
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Wednesday, January 12

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Monday, January 17
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Wednesday, February 2

Classes End

Thursday, February 17

5W2 (Five Week Second) Session

Classes Begin Monday, February 21
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Monday, February 21

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Monday, February 28
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Tuesday, March 15

Classes End

Thursday, March 31

5W3 (Five Week Third) Session

Classes Begin Monday, April 4
Last Day to Add Classes without Faculty Permission Monday, April 4

Last Day to Change from Audit to Credit, Change from Credit to Audit,

Drop with a Refund, or Drop with a Refund or Change Class Sections

Friday, April 8
Last Day to Withdraw from Classes without Grade Penalty Tuesday, April 22

Classes End

Thursday, May 5

Definitions and Summary Information Fall Semester 2021 – Spring Semester 2022

 

The following designations and definitions have been used in the development of MECC’s academic calendar for fall semester 2021 through spring semester 2022:

Faculty/Staff In-service Days – In-service days are scheduled work days with structured activities to be determined by needs identified by the president, the vice president of academic and student services, academic deans, and the Professional Development Committee. Unless otherwise indicated as needs are considered, in-service day activities will be held on campus with attendance expected.

Enrollment/Advisement Days – Faculty advisors should be available from 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on these days.

Professional Development Days – Faculty are expected to use these days to attend meetings, conferences, seminars, etc. that may be used for professional development.

 

COMPARISON OF MECC CALENDAR TO VCCS POLICY

  MECC VCCS Policy 5.0
Class Instruction 150 Minimum of 150 (75 each semester)
Examination Days 8 Approximately 10

In Service Days (includes Enrollment/Advisement Days and Professional Development Days

25 Approximately 20
Total working days 183 180 working days